Song of the Wandering Phoenix

“I went out to the hazel wood, because a fire was in my head…”-The Song of the Wandering Aengus by William Butler Yeats

When I wrote “Forever Always Until” it came to me as a song. I had just come from a spiritual consultation. She asked me if I had ever heard music in my head that I had never heard before. I said I had. She suggested that I write songs. I told her I didn’t know how. She suggested that I learn.

After I left, I heard a song in my head. A song I had never heard before. I was in the cab and I opened the Notes app on my phone and started writing the words and singing them in my head. By the time I got home, I had written the first stanza. I had to get ready for work, but made time the next day to finish the poem. As I wrote, I sang in my head. This wasn’t one of my usual free verse poems. I needed the rhythm to be right and it had to match the melody.

When I first shared it on my blog, I shared it as a poem. But since I wrote it, the song kept coming back into my head. I sing it often in the quiet of my home, but it’s not enough. The song keeps coming back and my head won’t stay quiet. I feel compelled to share the song with the world in the same way I felt compelled to write it. It’s mine and it’s not mine. The song came to me, but with the creative fervor that can only come straight from the Gods. The “fire in the head”.

Yes, it’s a love poem, but it’s more than that. It’s a love poem that, to me, reads like a prayer. It’s about faith and submission to a Will greater than my own. It’s about trusting that even in the darkest times “everything will turn out right”. Nothing really unique or special about it, but I love it just the same.

I don’t know if I’ll write any more song-poems. It could have been a fluke and there’s still the small matter that, while I can read and (sort of) play music, I don’t know how to write it. We’ll see what the future holds.

For now, my head is (finally) quiet and I can rest. Below you’ll find my recording of “Forever Always Until”. I hope that it speaks to you, dear reader, as it speaks to me.

About fenifuego

Just trying to make sense of myself and the world.
This entry was posted in art, faith, life, love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

