To Winter, I Yield / Sleeper, Awaken!

Gone are the dog days of lounging minimally clad
Pearls of sweat rolling down
I long for the sticky, sweet Sun’s kiss
Alas, He’s run away beyond the clouds

A crisp, fall wind has come
I bind my toes in socks and shoes
And wrap myself in wool and flannel
For fell Winter is on the wing

O Gracious Winter, have mercy!
My blood and bones need heat to thrive
And deep, desert winds to set me dancing
To the song of cicadas hissing in the trees

Yet I know the Order of Things
As I bow to my Seven Sisters at their return
Give thanks for the gifts of Fire and Weaving
And warm arms on cold, blustery nights

Hail Snow Hail Ice Hail Death and Dark!
The Sun is Unconquered
In the moist, damp Earth
A seed cracks open, and from the night, Light sparks

About fenifuego

Just trying to make sense of myself and the world.
This entry was posted in art, life, new beginnings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Winter, I Yield / Sleeper, Awaken!

  1. This is a wonderful post!

Share your thoughts

